How Do You Repsond?

By Natasha Botkin 

Life can create choppy waves, the true question is how do you respond.

My dog and I were enjoying a beautiful, sunny day at the beach.  The waves pushing her around, but as a typical Lab, she was relentless on, “Please, oh please throw me the stick.  I can do this Mom.”  Me completely aware of her swimming abilities.

A bitter lady nearby said, “You are a cruel pet owner, she’s surely to drown.”

Now this lady, has never seen us, does not know us and has no clue to us.  This did not deter me from enjoying my moment at the beach.  My sweet dog happily, jumping in the waves, fetching her stick and both of us having an all around good time.

At one moment, a wave came up and nearly toppled her, but she held her ground and frolicked out to sea.  It was at this moment, my higher self said, “Well how do you respond?”  

Brilliant question from a wise soul!   So I ask you the same requited question.  How do you respond?  Do you allow the waves to toppled you over or beat against you, feeling as if you are drowning or less than there of.  Or do you reach deep within and allow the tranquility of peace to wash all over you, in you and around you as life creates those tough wavy moments.

As this woman, made her statement, I did not “feel” anything, rather I knew this was not about me, but her.  My choice at that particular moment to turn inward, inhaling the calm, serene blue skies inward, pausing for a moment and then breathing out a pink bubble and blowing this to the wind and sea.

May you too have the ability to breathe in the peace and breathe out a pink bubble  blowing “this” away from you.

Much Love, Much Light and Magical Blessings, 

Natasha 

6 comments on “How Do You Repsond?

  1. Reba Linker says:

    Thanks, Natasha, for this wonderful example of responding without letting someone else’s stuff knock you over. I am on the same wave length! xox, Reba

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bravo ! Natasha bravo!! It is so liberating and empowering when we realize that itbis about their story and not ours, isn’ t it? Wohooo!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. debraoakland says:

    I respond rather than react and when someone interjects “their” stuff – remaining calm and centered. My husband and I were walking around the beach at The Montage the other evening. I stopped to take a photo and behind us sat a homeless man who began yelling obscenities and all manner of vile comments at us about people not giving him money. We calmly walked on, away of his energy. I feel that if he showed up in my path, the best thing I can do is say a little blessing for his highest and greatest good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pamela says:

    Thank you for sharing Natasha! A great analogy for being in allowance when others project their “stuff” onto us. Being clear and standing in our own truth is powerful. Like the waves! Beautiful. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kindness Junkie says:

    I love your perspective & ability not to let this person interject their negativity/fear/judgment on you! I would have focused on the peaceful blue sky, while planting my feet firmly so the waves don’t take me down!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Peggy Nolan says:

    The days of other people’s issues knocking me over are mostly gone (rogue waves sometimes occur). I love how you used your play time with your pup to illustrate this so incredibly well! xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

